26/viii/44 – A/I Mk X Exercises III, IV & V

26th August 14:40
VICKERS ARMSTRONG WELLINGTON XI MP535 (A/I Mk X)
Pilot: F/Lt Smith RAAF
Instructor: F/O Keating RAAF
U/T Navigator (R): Self
U/T Navigator (R) F/Lt Watson DFC
U/T Navigator (R): F/S Brock
U/T Navigator (R): F/O Grant
A/I Mk X – EXERCISE III
A/I U/S. Stalling “demonstration” by pilot
1:10

17:40
VICKERS ARMSTRONG WELLINGTON XI MP525/G (A/I Mk X)
Pilot: F/Lt Hollowell AFC
Instructor: F/O Keating RAAF
U/T Navigator (R): Self
U/T Navigator (R) F/Lt Watson DFC
U/T Navigator (R): F/O Grant
U/T Navigator (R): F/S Brock
A/I Mk X – EXERCISE III
Crossing contacts with elevation difference
A/I Mk X – EXERCISE IV
Target weaving in elevation
A/I Mk X – EXERCISE V
Target weaving in Azimuith
Blip interpretation, commentary, handling of controls & simple interception.
2:05

The table below, replicated from Broody’s journal, lists the content of each A/I Mk.X Exercise

Ex. No. Mk. X Exercises

I

Blip-Interpretation, Commentary, handling of Controls

II

Setting-up & Simple Interception on various courses

III

Crossing contacts with Target below Fighter

IV

Target weaving in Elevation

V

Target weaving in Azimuth

VI

Target corkscrewing in Azimuth & Elevation
Leave a Reply

